“Nutter Butters”

So today I’m going back to basics–or rather, I’m going to post a recipe rather than a restaurant review.

Last week I saw this recipe on Cookies & Cups and I knew I had to try it.  Shelly always has the cutest, most scrumptious looking food on her blog and I was determined to try these out.

The first batch was a little gooey… YUM.

Now, I’m sure everyone has had a Nutter Butter before, and as many of you know, I am a peanut butter ADDICT. I have to have it at least once a day, and most often more than that. I am a fan of the Nutter Butter, but I was intrigued by the idea of making soft peanut butter cookies to sandwich a peanut butter cream.

Let’s just say it was easier said than done. I wanted to make these a little lighter, so I subbed out full-fat butter for light butter, and half the butter in the actual cookies for applesauce.  I knew I’d have some unforeseen difficulties because of the modifications, but I didn’t count on being in the kitchen for several hours. The dough was pretty sticky so instead of trying to make the cookies peanut-shaped, I made two sheets of bars–MUCH easier.

My attempt at making peanut-shaped Nutter Butters

I figured out the cooking time much better by the second batch, so it shouldn’t be difficult to replicate these.  And besides, I got so many compliments on these–a few people even said that this was the best thing I’ve made so far!  Enjoy!

My friend Morgan who had to take a few back for various people who live on our floor

My friend Eric (he took two… or three)

Lightened-up Nutter Butters

Source: Cookies & Cups

Serving Size: 1 sandwich

Servings: about 30 sandwiches

Weight Watchers Points + value: 6 points per sandwich



1 C creamy peanut butter

1/2 C light butter

1/2 C unsweetened applesauce

1 C granulated sugar

1 C brown sugar, packed

2 eggs

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 C white whole-wheat flour


1C creamy peanut butter

1/2 C light butter

1 1/2 C powdered sugar

1 Tbsp. non-fat milk or milk substitute

“Peanut Butter City”–According to my friend Lucy, the best city she’s ever eaten.

  1. In a large bowl, beat peanut butter, butter, applesauce, and both sugars until creamy.  Add in eggs and vanilla, and mix until combined. Then add flour, baking powder and baking soda, mixing until combined again. Refrigerate the dough for 1 hour.
  2. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and spray a 9×13 baking dish with Pam or another un-flavored cooking spray.
  3. Pour about half the dough into the prepared baking dish and bake for 10-12 minutes, or until top is golden brown and edges are slightly darker brown. They will continue to cook a little once out of the oven, so don’t wait until they’re too brown, but don’t be like me and undercook the first batch because you’re impatient.
  4. For the filling: mix peanut butter and butter until smooth. Then gradually add powdered sugar until combined. Add milk if necessary to make it smooth.
  5. Either top the bars with the filling or make a sandwich!

2 thoughts on ““Nutter Butters”

Leave a Reply

